iknit2purl2 · Instagram · KnittersofInstagram · Knitting · operations sock drawer · Socks

Making It Right 

 

As I was knitting this sock today (and making a lot of progress), I noticed that one stitch had slipped. This probably happened when I put my knitting down; I’m using the Magic Loop Method with a 32 inch long circular needle and, occasionally, I don’t slip the stitches back far enough when I stop. Oopsie! 

So the two choices to correct this are: (1) attempt to  run a chain up the side which can be done with a knitting needle or more favorably a crochet hook (I’d probably use the knitting needle since I can never remember where my crochet hook is) or (2) frog the 30 or so rows, pick up the stitches and just resume knitting. 

I opted for:

 

Frogging the 30 or so rows. After I did, a few people on Instagram said Nooooo pull the stitch up, you’ll never see it once it’s blocked. Yes, I’ve done that on occasion. But In this situation, I opted not to risk seeing a longgggg line of uneven or irregular stitches – There were a lot of rows after that slipped stitch.   In other instances, I’ve gone with option (1) above with no misgivings.  Is it better to start over from the point you made a mistake or just fix the mistake as best you can? How do you deal with knitting mistakes?

2 thoughts on “Making It Right 

  1. For me- it depends. If it’s going to drive me insane, then yes I’ll frog back and fix the mistake. If it doesn’t really bother me, then I’ll secure it and leave it in. I’m not the best with doing the crochet hook thing and picking the stitch up and working it back up the pattern. I’ve done it, but really- it almost would have been easier to frog those rows and do them over. I’m THAT slow.

  2. I would have definitely just run the stitch back up. I don’t know why but I’m programmed to go forward, not back! I’m just about to hit publish on a post that had me thinking about steeking to avoid frogging a few rows. LOL! Cooler heads prevailed and I just frogged it…I really wanted to avoid it though!

Leave a comment